All times are UTC

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 
  Print view

Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 9:25 am 

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 10:30 am
Posts: 298
In the halal system, food can be classified to 3 divisions. The first classification is halal. Literally meaning permissible or lawful, this class of food are those that are allowed to be fed on by Muslims. Included in the list of halal food including grains, vegetables, fruits, seafoods, and meat that is properly slaughtered (yes, the Muslims have a system of slaughtering animals for meat). On the other side of the spectrum are foods that are considered haram which literally means anything prohibited according to the Qur’an. Foods that are explicitly defined as haram are as follows: pork or any pork byproduct, carrion (dead animals), blood, intoxicants such as alcohol, birds of prey (such as vultures), and animals that are not slaughtered properly. While there is a definite line between halal and haram, there is something that is considered a gray line. If something cannot be defined either as halal or haram, it is classified into the 3rd division, mashbooh. Literally meaning questionable, the partaking of foods classified here is according to the discretion of the person.


New York Office
Halal Advisory Group
817 Broadway 5th Floor
New York, N.Y. 10003,
Toll Free: 1-866-211-6606
Direct: 347-704-0577
Fax: 1-866-998-6636

 Profile Send private message  

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 

All times are UTC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB © 2009 - 2010 - Bid Directory